The Jawaharlal Nehru University has been set up by an Act of Parliament (Act 53 of 1969). In line with the affirmative policy of Government of India, the University has resolved that the affirmative policies, programmes, schemes, facilities would be provided to the persons belonging to socially and economically weaker sections of the Society including persons with disabilities. With a view to ensuring implementation of the affirmative policy of the Government of India/UGC and the orders issued by such authorities from time to time for the benefit of SC/STs the University set up SC/ST Cell in terms of UGC letter no. F.1-26/76(CP/SCT) dated 27.06.1979. The Cell was set up by the University vide its Office Order No. 16 dated July 22, 1983.


Since the reservation for OBCs were also provided by Government of India, the name of SC/ST Cell was changed to SC/ST/OBC Cell, so as to include work relating to implementation of reservation policies for OBCs. The Cell is headed by the Joint Registrar/ Deputy Registrar. The details about sanctioned strength for the SC/ST/OBC Cell are given below:



  • Deputy Registrar    -          01
  • Section Officer    -            01
  • Statistical Assistant    -      01
  • Assistant -                      01
  • Steno-Typist    -               01
  • Peon    -                        01


In terms of UGC communication no. F.1-16/97 dated October 07, 1997 and Office Order No. 4/2000 dated October 20, 2000, the University has also appointed Liaison Officers to oversee the effective implementation of reservation policies/rules of Government of India/UGC received by the University. The Liaison Officers nominated are to be rank of the Deputy Secretary. The present Liaison Officers in the University are as follows:




Important Links:

  1. Online complaints regarding caste/ community discrimination
  2. Govt. of India guidelines for Reservation Policy for SCs/STs/OBCs
  3. Govt. of India guidelines for Reservation Policy for PwDs
  4. Format of SC/ST/OBC/PwD Certificate as per Govt. of India
  5. Office Orders/ Notifications
  6. Updates from Govt. of India/DoPT
  7. Minutes of the Health Advisory Committee meeting held on 16-08-2018

The details of Liaison Officers who were nominated in the past are given below.


List of Liaison Officers for SC/ST/PwD till date is given below:


S. No.
Liasion Officer
1.Prof. Umesh Ashok KadamCentre for Historical Studies,
School of Social Sciences
SC/ST/PwD06.10.2016 - 04.07.2017
Prof. D.K. Lobiyal
School of Computer & System Sciences
30.09.2009 - 05.10.2016
Prof. R.K. Kale
School of Life Sciences
29.05.2008 - 29.03.2009
Prof. S.K. Thorat
Centre for the Study of Regional Development, School of Social Sciences
20.10.2000 - 28.05.2008


List of Liaison Officers for OBC till date is given below:


S. No.
Liasion Officer
Prof. S.N. Malakar
Centre for West Asian Studies, School of International Studies
12.03.2010 - 20.10.2016
Prof. P.K. Yadava
School of Life Sciences
05.03.2007 - 11.03.2010


       The overall functions of SC/ST/OBC Cell are the following:

  1. Standing Advisory Committee on SCs/STs
  2. Reservation policies
  3. Complaint Register
  4. To assist the committees from Government of India/UGC, Government of India with regard to implementation to reservation policy in the University.
  5. Maintenance of Reservation Rosters/Registers
  6. Maintenance of Registers for PwDs reservations.
  7. To ensure compliance of the orders of reservation issued and other benefits admissible from time to time in favour of SCs/STs/OBCs/PwDs.
  8. To liaise with the UGC/ DoPT/ MHRD/ etc. with respect to supply of required information, answering queries and clearing doubts with respect to reservations data/information etc.
  9. To liaise with Office of the Commissioner for SCs/STs/OBCs/PwDs in response of representations/ complaints.
  10. Liaise/ coordinate with Equal Opportunity Office for implementation of policies/ orders etc. regarding equal opportunity.


        Additional functions:

  1. Medical Reimbursement/ Medical Advances to serving and retired employees.
  2. Group Saving Link Insurance Scheme/ Group Term Insurance plan for employees.
  3. CGHS
  4. Signing of MoU/ Agreement with various Hospitals for providing cashless medical facility.
  5. House Building Advances/ Computer Advances/ Festival Advances
  6. Scooter/ Motorcycle/Bicycle Advances
  7. Other related work