The Ryoichi Sasakawa Young Leaders Fellowship Fund

Welcome to SYLFF


The New MOU with the Tokyo/Nippon Foundation is under process

Jawaharlal Nehru University received the prestigious SYLFF endowment fund in June 2003. JNU and Jadavpur University are the only two institutions of higher learning in India to receive this grant. As of March 2007 there were 69 SYLFF endowed institutions in 45 countries, including JNU.

The SYLFF Program is a collaborative effort of the Nippon Foundation and the Tokyo Foundation. While the Nippon Foundation provides the grants for the successful running of the fellowship programme, the Tokyo foundation is responsible for the administration of the fund.

Out of the grant of US$ 1 million to Jawaharlal Nehru University, by the Nippon Foundation, two fellowships are awarded every year after calling for application from interested candidates of School of Social Sciences, School of Arts and Aesthetics, School of International Studies, School of Language, Literature and Culture Studies, Center for the Study of law and Governance, Special Center for Sanskrit Studies. The university has formed a Steering Committee for SYLFF to administer the fellowship.  On behalf of screening committee Vice-Chancellor constituted a separate screening committee to interview the applicants and recommending the award of fellowship. The Steering Committee approves the recommendation and confers the fellowship. The fellowship holders enjoy the fellowship for a period of 3 years at the rate of Rs.18000/- per month. Depending upon the availability of interests, at any given time there could be six or seven fellowship holders.

Prof. Hanuman Sharma, CoE is SYLFF administrator in the University, also a member of the steering committee and often works as mediator between Tokyo foundation, AJSF and the University administration.

Keeping to the spirit of SYLFF programme to nurture future leaders, who shall transcend all barriers and shall be catalysts in bringing world peace and well being of humankind JNU has selected fellows in all successive years. The first batch of SYLFF Fellowship was granted to Dhrub Kumar Singh and Bikramaditya Kumar Choudhury. The second batch of fellowship was granted to Kamei AphunAnindita Pujari and Sajitha M. The third batch of the fellowship was granted to N. Bijen MeeteiSaroj Ranjan Jha and Sunitha B Nair. The fourth batch of the fellowship is given to Dhiraj Kumar Nite and Manisha Singh. Current SYLFF fellows are Abid SaittuAnubhav SenguptaAnwesha RoyAshish Kumar, Dipanwita Donde and Subir Dey.