Skip to main content

SCSM Adjunct Faculty

SCSM Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct Faculties

S. No.

Faculty Name


Main Affiliation & Position

Area of Research Interest /Specialization

For more Information (click the link)


Dr. Harpreet Singh

Senior Scientist & Head, Division of ISRM

Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi

Genome-wide association studies (GWAS), De novo genome assembly


Dr. Prafulla Kumar B. Tailor

Senior Scientist

National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi

Dendritic cell Biology, Applied Immunology


Dr. Anil Tripathi

Professor & Head of Clinical Hematology

King George's Medical University, Lucknow

Cellular and molecular biology of Chronic Myeloid Leukemia, Molecular and clinical heterogeneity in ITP


Dr. Anil Mishra

Senior Scientist & Director (INMAS)

Institute of Nuclear Medicine and Allied Sciences (INMAS), Timarpur, Delhi

Molecular Imaging agents, Radiochemistry & Radiopharmaceuticals


Dr. Anil Koul


London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, United Kingdom

Bacterial energy metabolism, virus-host interaction mechanisms.


Dr. Neel Sarovar Bhavesh

Senior Scientist

International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi

Metabolomics, Structural Biology


Dr. Hitesh Verma

Additional Professor

Otolaryngology & Head Neck Surgery,

AIIMS, New Delhi

Ear, Nose and throat diseases and surgery


Dr. Anurag Varshney

Vice-President & Head

Drug Discovery and Development, Patanjali Research Institute, Haridwar, Uttrakhand

Drug discovery-development, project management and resource planning


Dr. S Dhanalakshmi

Associate Vice President- Drug Discovery

Jubilant Therapeutics India Limited, Bengaluru

Drug discovery, Oncology and autoimmune disorders

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.