RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR ELECTION OF STUDENT REPRESENTATIVES TO ICC

- 1. The Committee unanimously nominated Dr. Neerja Samajdar, CKS/SLL&CS as Presiding Officer of the Election Committee to ICC.
- 2. As per clause 4.1(c) vide Resol. No. 5.3/EC/18/09/2017 election of three student representatives each from the following three constituencies will be conducted.
 - a. Under Graduate
 b. Post Graduate
 c. B.A./B.Tech./B.Sc.
 d. M.A./M.Tech/M.Sc.

c. Research Scholar - M.Phil/Ph.D.

Note: Only one candidate from one constituency shall be elected.

- 3. The office bearers of JNUSU/Counsellors shall not be eligible for contesting ICC Election.
- 4. The student member of ICC shall also not be eligible to contest JNUSU elections.
- 5. Out of the three students representative to ICC, at least two are reserved for female candidates. Further, on the basis of rotation, the Committee decided that Under Graduate and Post Graduate constituencies are earmarked for female candidates for the year 2018-2019.
- 6. The term of elected members shall be for one year only.
- 7. Students of respective constituency as mentioned in point no. 2 can cast his/her vote to his/her constituency only.
- 8. A student member once elected to ICC shall not be eligible for re-election to ICC.
- 9. The Committee decided the following rules for contesting ICC election.
 - a. Candidates shall submit their nominations in the prescribed format available at Dean of Students Office.
 - b. A student can file nomination only for his/her respective constituency.
 - c. Only a bonafide student of JNU pursuing regular course of study is eligible to contest ICC election.
 - d. Proposer, seconder and the candidate must be from the same constituency.
- 10. Candidates contesting for ICC election shall abide by the rules, regulations and instructions issued by the Presiding Officer and Dean of Students.
- 11. Decisions of the Presiding Officer, Election Committee in all matters pertaining to elections shall be final and binding.
- 12. All students shall carry their valid JNU identity cards at the time of casting their votes. If JNU identity card is not available, student is required to carry latest registration folio with Aadhar card.
- 13. Voting shall take place at Auditorium II Convention Centre, JNU from 9.00 am to 5.00 pm on 03.10.2018.
- 14. All queries & complaints with respect of ICC election shall be addressed to the Presiding Officer, ICC Election Committee.
- 15. The votes shall be casted by postal-ballot papers.
- 16. A candidate can nominate maximum of three authorised nominee for polling/counting; however only one nominee for the candidate is permitted inside polling booth/counting station.
- 17. A candidate/authorised nominee of the candidate shall be present at the polling booth at least one hour before the scheduled time of voting i.e. 8.00 am on 03.10.2018.
- 18. If a candidate or his/her nominee fails to be present at the time of polling/counting; polling/counting will not be paused or delayed and shall carry on as per the schedule.