मुख्य सामग्री को स्किप करे



MSc Biotech admission (GAT-B 2024)

SBT Admission 2024


List of M.Sc. courses  offered during Monsoon/Winter Semester
List of Pre-Ph.D. courses offered during Monsoon/Winter Semester
The School of Biotechnology (SBT) was founded in 1985 as the first human resource centre of Biotechnology by the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India. The school offers Masters and PhD programs in Biotechnology rooted in imparting multidisciplinary skills which allow the students to have their career in Biotechnology and develop their innovative ideas that can translate into bio-entrepreneurship. Various elective courses floated by experienced faculty of the school enables the students to choose and get specialized in the area of their research interest. The school is equipped with faculty members having graduated from reputed academic institutions and universities of our country and abroad with diverse and inter-disciplinary backgrounds aligning with national strategic development polices and their demands. The school’s academic and research programs provide basic to advanced infrastructure for the students to enhance their technical and innovation skills. Faculty members receive research support from different funding agencies, including DBT, DST, ICMR, CSIR, and DRDO etc. and some of them have been able to spin-off bio-business incubated at JNU. The school has been awarded UGC-SAP, DST-FIST, and DBT-BUILDER programs in participation with other schools of the university. Our alumni are placed in academic/scientific positions in many reputed national and international universities/institutes worldwide. Some of them work in prominent biotechnology companies and some have started their own companies. SBT's mission is to expand its reach and to nurture innovative minds through education, professional development, and advancements in biotechnology knowledge.


PAN-India project for SWAYAM Prabha

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.