मुख्य सामग्री को स्किप करे



Awards/Prizes/Honours/Fellowship to the Faculty

Dr. Suman Kumar Dhar has been awarded as International Senior Research Fellow by Wellcome Trust UK, (2003-08) 
Dr. Chinmay K. Mukhopdhyay has been awarded as International Senior Research Fellow by Wellcome Trust UK, (2004-09)
Dr. S.K. Sarin, Head of Department of Gastroenterology, G.B. Pant Hospital, Adjunct Faculty of Centre for Molecular Medicine, has been awarded the prestigious Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) award for medical sciences for the year 2004.
Dr Suman K. Dhar has been awarded Humboldt Research Fellowship by Humboldt Research Foundation, Germany (2007).
Dr Suman K. Dhar has been elected as a member of prestigious Guha Research conference (GRC) (2007).
Dr. Chinmay K. Mukhopadhyay Chaired a session in International BioIron Society meeting held in Porto, Portugal (2009).
Dr. Chinmay K. Mukhopadhyay has been elected as a member of Guha Research Conference (2010)
Dr. Chinmay K. Mukhopadhyay was invited Speaker in Biannual meeting of International BioIron Society held in Vancouver, Canada on 21-26th May, 2011
Dr. Rakesh K. Tyagi, received ‘Gold medal oration award’ by the Society of Reproductive Biology and Comparative Endocrinology (SRBCE) for significant contribution in the area of Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology. Conferred during the XXIX Annual meeting of the SRBCE at University of Mysore during 10-12th February, 2011.
Dr. Rakesh K. Tyagi, Elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India, 2010
Dr. Rakesh K. Tyagi, FRE (Fellow in Reproduction and Endocrinology) by Society of Reproductive Biology and Comparative Endocrinology, 2009.
Dr. Suman Kumar Dhar awarded Swarnajayanti Fellowship by Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India. (2009-14)
Dr. Suman Kumar Dhar, awarded Wellcome Trust-DBT Alliance Senior Research Fellowship (2010)
Dr. Suman Kumar Dhar, awarded National Biosciences Award for career development (2010)
Dr. Suman Kumar Dhar, was invited by Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation to attend a meeting on Global Strategies of Intervention of Gametocyte Stages of P. falciparum at Washington DC, USA (2011).
Dr Suman Kumar Dhar was Elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India (2011).
Dr Suman Kumar Dhar has been invited as a speaker to attend Gordon Research Conference on Host-Parasite Biology to be held at Rhode Island, USA (2012).
Dr. Dipankar Ghosh, Organizing Secretary: The Indian Proteomics Conference, April 2011.New Delhi.
Dr. Dipankar Ghosh, Chief Coordinator, National Proteomics & Mass Spectrometry Workshop, April 2011, New Delhi.
Dr. Dipankar Ghosh, Panel Member. International Symposium on Protective Nutrients, Translational Health Science and Technology Institute (THSTI), New Delhi, India & Centre for Diarrheal Diseases and Nutrition Research, Department of Pediatrics All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), February 2010, New Delhi.

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.