मुख्य सामग्री को स्किप करे



· UGC-CSIR Junior Research Fellowships
· UGC-Scholarships and Fellowships
· State Government Fellowships:

Merit-cum-Means Scholarships:

A number of Merit-cum-Means scholarships are available for deserving and meritorious students whose parent's/ guardian's income does not exceed Rs. 1,00,000/- per annum or as may be laid down from time to time. The payment of scholarships will be governed by the rules in force in the University from time to time.


Okita Memorial Fellowship - There are two Fellowships each of the value of Rs.5000/- p.m. with an annual contingency grant of Rs.10,000/- awarded by the ICCR on the recommendation of the University for 2 years. This is open to meritorious Indian students in JNU who are registered for M.Phil/Ph.D. and MA 2nd year programme in various Centres of SIS/ SLL&CS/SSS pursuing studies/research in any of the areas of specialization bearing on Japan or on India's Relations with Japan.

G Parthasarathi Endowment Fellowship – There are four Fellowships including the one in Memory of Late Chandrasekhar Prasad the student leader in JNU of Rs.1000/-p.m., each awarded to students initially for a period of one year, renewable by another year on the basis of academic performance, to students coming from economically weaker sections of society, particularly Scheduled Caste/Scheduled Tribe/Backward Class, and Physically Challenged (Handicapped) students.

Special Fellowships for SC/ST and PH students - Four Fellowships are awarded @ Rs.12000/- p.m.(for one semester or two semesters) for students hailing from deprived sections of society i.e. Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribe and Physically Challenged (Handicapped) with a view to preparing them for taking up teaching and/or research as career. These fellowships are to be used for most deserving among them who have completed two years of Ph.D. or after having completed M.Phil. are on the verge of completion of Ph.D.

Jawahar Bhawan Trust Scholarship - These Scholarships are of the value of Rs.1000/-p.m. awarded to 10 students for a period of one year (covering two semesters) and may be renewed for subsequent semester(s) subject to the condition that the student maintains CGPA of 5.5 at the end of third semester of MA/M.Sc. and fifth semester in case of MCA.

Nippon Foundation (Japan) - Two Fellowships are awarded every year out of the endowment of US$ 1 million given by Nippon Foundation. The fellowship holders will enjoy this prestigious Fellowship for a period of 3 years at the rate of Rs.15000/- per month. At a given point of time from third year onwards, six students of M.Phil./Ph.D. programme will be awarded the Fellowship.

Swamy Pranavananda Memorial Research Fellowship
- Awarded annually to a M.Phil. student pursuing studies for promotion in the Indian Philosophy, Culture and Civilization.


The President of India Gold Medal – This Gold Medal and Certificate is awarded annually to one student adjudged best for excellence in academic performance literary activities, music, participation in hostel life, sports, good character and conduct.

Pande Medal - A Gold Medal and a Certificate of Merit, instituted by Prof H.C Pande (retired), are awarded annually to the best student in B.A (Hons) Russian at the Centre of Russian Studies, SLL&CS.

There is also a provision for students coming from weaker sections of society under the "Earn as you Learn" scheme.

Details can be obtained from Room No.020 (Ground Floor) Scholarship/Fellowship Section, Administration Block, J.N.U., New Delhi – 110067. Or JNU website (www.jnu.ac.in)

For more/updated details please visit www.jnu.ac.in





A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.