Skip to main content

Former Faculty

Former Faculty

The Centre for Political Studies has a  knowledge tradition of five decades. Many academicians have contributed to this tradition in numerous ways. Many of these colleagues contributed to the understanding of Indian politics and political theory even after their retirement from the Centre.

Name of the faculty

Work Tenure

Areas of Specialization

Prof. K. Seshadri


Indian Politics, Public Administration

Prof. Rasheeduddin Khan


Federalism, Indian Politics, West Asia

Prof. Sudipta Kaviraj


Political Theory, Socialism, Indian Politics

Prof. C P Bhambhri


Indian Politics, Bureaucracy

Prof. S.N. Jha


Methods in Social Sciences

Prof. Imtiaz Ahmad


Political Sociology, Minority Politics

Prof. Kuldeep Mathur


Public Policy, Development Administration

Prof. A. K. Ray


International Relations, Foreign Policy

Prof. Kiran Saxena


Trade Unionism, Gender Politics

Prof. Rajeev Bhargava


Political Philosophy, Secularism

Dr. Bishnu Mahapatra


Nationalism, Politics and Culture

Prof Rakesh Gupta

Comparative Politics

Prof. Balveer Arora


Federalism, Political Institutions In India

Prof.  Zoya Hasan


Indian Politics, Election process

Prof. Valerian Rodrigues


Indian Political Thought, Social Justice

Prof Sudha Pai


Social Movements, Dalit Politics

Prof Gopal Guru


Political Theory, Social Justice

Prof Gurpreet Mahajan


Political Philosophy, Multiculturalism

Prof Pralay Kanungo


Indian Politics, Political Institutions

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.