Skip to main content




The School of Environmental Sciences was established in the year 1974 and was the first of its kind in India to impart education and initiate research in environmental sciences. The school has been offering the M.Phil./Ph.D. Program since 1975 and the Master of Science (M.Sc.) Program since 1987 successfully. Ever since its inception, the school has been engaged in multidisciplinary research in different areas of environmental sciences such as environmental biology, ecology, environmental pollution, earth sciences, environmental modelling, climate dynamics, and atmospheric science.  With the diverse academic and research background of its faculty, the school is uniquely placed to conduct path breaking research in environmental sciences.  Many of the current and past faculty members are known internationally for their significant contributions in different fields of environmental sciences. Its faculty members have received various awards, have been the members of different Science Academies and have provided academic leadership in different educational and research institutions.


The school’s faculty has been engaged in several national and international collaborative research projects, drawing financial resources from leading national and international funding agencies. This has immensely contributed to the development of laboratory infrastructure in the school. Not surprisingly, the school has performed very well in research during the last 10 years, having published several hundred research articles in leading peer reviewed journals of international repute. During this period, more than 200 students have successfully completed their doctoral degree from the school and the school’s alumni have found placement in different educational, research and other institutions of the country and abroad. Currently, the school is ranked between 301-350 in QS World ranking by subject with IIT Bombay, IIT Kharagpur and Indian Institute of Science (IISc) Bangalore being the only Indian educational institutions ranked above it.

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.