Skip to main content

CIS Contact

CIS Contact

Communication & Information Services

Office of Director, CIS 

Mr. Sanjeev Kumar,

Personal Assistant
Kusum Joshi, 4116 (PABX), 26704116

Junior Assistant Typist
Ram Karan, 4116 (PABX), 26704116

Junior Assistant Typist
Duggapu Suresh Kumar, 8717 (PABX), 26738717

Network, ICT Infra and Web technologies Group, CIS 

Network Administration
Mr. Kevijalie (, 26704747, 26704006
Mr. Deepak Kumar (, 26704006

Website Hosting and Content/Multimedia Development
Dr. Ritu Nidhi ( ,, 26704094
Ms. Anamika (, 26738717

Samarth Team
Ms. Anamika (, 26738717
Mr Neeraj Kumar (, 26704727
Dr. Ritu Nidhi ( ,, 26704094

Network Field and Data Centre Operation
Mr. Deepak Kumar (, 26704006

LMS and Video Conferencing Operations
Mr. Kevijalie (, 26704747, 26704006
Mr. Deepak Kumar (, 26704006
Dr. Ritu Nidhi ( ,, 26704094

Biometric Attendance System
Mr. Kevijalie (, 26704747, 26704006
Mr. Ajeet Kumar (, 26738850

Contact Telephone nos. of CIS 
CIS - 4006(PABX), 4094(PABX), 8717(PABX), 8850(PABX), 26704006/4094, 26738717

E-Governance Cell

Mr. Neeraj Kumar (, 26704727
Mr. Amogh Batra (, 26738740
Ms Pratima Yadav (, 26704080
Dr. Ritu Nidhi (, 26704094

Contact Telephone no of e-gov 
E-gov - 4080(PABX), 4747(PABX), 8740(PABX), 26704080/4747/8740

University Computer Maintenance Cell (UCMC)
Mr. Inderjeet Singh Sehgal (, 26704133

Contact Telephone no of UCMC 
UCMC - 4133(PABX), 26704133

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.