Skip to main content



The Jawaharlal Nehru University’s Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship (ABVSME) will offer admission in the following academic programmes in the session 2024-25.
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA): 2-Year duration
Master of Business Administration (MBA)
i. Academic Eligibility Criteria for admission in the MBA programme :
The candidates having the following qualifications are eligible to apply for admission to the “Master of Business Administration” (MBA) programme.


A Bachelor’s degree or equivalent awarded by any of the universities incorporated by an act of the central or state legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent qualification recognized by the Ministry of Education, GOI.


The Bachelor’s degree or equivalent qualification obtained by the candidate must entail a minimum of three years of education after completing higher secondary schooling (10+2) or equivalent.
  • For General Category, OBC (NCL) and EWS candidates, a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate (of all the years/semesters) or equivalent CGPA in the qualifying degree is required.
  • For SC/ST/PWD candidates, a minimum of 45% marks in aggregate (of all the years/semesters) or equivalent CGPA in the qualifying degree is required.
  • Candidates appearing for the final year of bachelor’s degree/equivalent qualification examination, and those who have completed degree requirements and are awaiting results, can also apply. If selected, such candidates will be allowed to join as per the University Rules, only if she/he submits the documentary evidence of having qualified the eligibility requirements by certain date (to be decided by the University in due course).
ii. Process for Admission (in MBA programme):
All candidates seeking admission to the MBA programme should submit their application online at the JNU website


All applicants seeking admission in the MBA programme must have appeared in the Common Admission Test (CAT) in 2023 conducted by IIMs. Each applicant applying for admission in the MBA programme must submit his/her CAT Registration Number and CAT Score. JNU will use CAT score for short-listing the applicants for GD and PI for the MBA programme. Based on the CAT score merit, the number of applicants shortlisted for GD and PI will be at least seven times the number of seats in each category. The final list of selected candidates will be based on CAT score and marks obtained in the Group Discussion and Personal Interview with respective weightage as 70%, 10% and 20% of CAT score.


For Foreign National: The eligibility for admission in MBA programme for Foreign National will be valid GMAT Score (minimum 500) and a Bachelor’s degree.
iii. Number of Seats and Reservation Policy:
In MBA admissions, the reservation policy as per Government of India rules will be strictly followed. As MBA programme is a professional programme, no additional deprivation points (as it may be the case in some other JNU courses) will be taken into consideration for admission. Intake in the MBA programme of ABV-SME will be 75 students.
iv. Application Fees:
For Indian National: Applicants for the MBA programme at ABVSME, JNU, have to pay the following application fees (non-refundable). Rs. 2000/- (Rs. Two Thousand only) for General Category, EWS and OBC (NCL) applicants, Rs.1000/- (Rs. One Thousand Only) for SC/ST/PWD applicants.
v. Fee refund policy:
As  per  UGC  notification  dated  October,  2018  on Refund  of  Fees  and  Non-Retention  of  Original  Certificates. Details of the MBA courses are available on ABVSME website::


A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.