Skip to main content



The Jawaharlal Nehru University has been set up by an Act of Parliament (Act 53 of 1969). In line with the affirmative policy of Government of India, the University has resolved that the affirmative policies, programmes, schemes, facilities would be provided to the persons belonging to socially and economically weaker sections of the Society including persons with disabilities. With a view to ensuring implementation of the affirmative policy of the Government of India/UGC and the orders issued by such authorities from time to time for the benefit of SC/STs the University set up SC/ST Cell in terms of UGC letter no. F.1-26/76(CP/SCT) dated 27.06.1979. The Cell was set up by the University vide its Office Order No. 16 dated July 22, 1983.

Since the reservation for OBCs were also provided by Government of India, the name of SC/ST Cell was changed to SC/ST/OBC Cell, so as to include work relating to implementation of reservation policies for OBCs. The Cell is headed by the Joint Registrar/ Deputy Registrar. The details about sanctioned strength for the SC/ST/OBC Cell are given below:


  • Deputy Registrar    -          01
  • Section Officer    -            01
  • Statistical Assistant    -      01
  • Assistant -                      01
  • Steno-Typist    -               01
  • Peon    -                        01

In terms of UGC communication no. F.1-16/97 dated October 07, 1997 and Office Order No. 4/2000 dated October 20, 2000, the University has also appointed Liaison Officers to oversee the effective implementation of reservation policies/rules of Government of India/UGC received by the University. The Liaison Officers nominated are to be rank of the Deputy Secretary. The present Liaison Officers in the University are as follows:

Important Links:

  1. Online complaints regarding caste/ community discrimination
  2. Govt. of India guidelines for Reservation Policy for SCs/STs/OBCs
  3. Govt. of India guidelines for Reservation Policy for PwDs
  4. Format of SC/ST/OBC/PwD Certificate as per Govt. of India
  5. Office Orders/ Notifications
  6. Updates from Govt. of India/DoPT
  7. Minutes of the Health Advisory Committee meeting held on 16-08-2018


Reservation Roster as per UGC public notice no. 14-4/2023(CPP-II) dated 13th October, 2023 regarding minimum mandatory disclosure for Universities/HEIs

Reservation Roster for Non-Teaching Direct Recruitment.pdf

Reservation Roster for Non-Teaching Promotion.pdf


The details of Liaison Officers who were nominated in the past are given below.

List of Liaison Officers for SC/ST/PwD till date is given below:

S. No.
Liasion Officer
1. Prof. Umesh Ashok Kadam Centre for Historical Studies,
School of Social Sciences
SC/ST/PwD 06.10.2016 - 04.07.2017
Prof. D.K. Lobiyal
School of Computer & System Sciences
30.09.2009 - 05.10.2016
Prof. R.K. Kale
School of Life Sciences
29.05.2008 - 29.03.2009
Prof. S.K. Thorat
Centre for the Study of Regional Development, School of Social Sciences
20.10.2000 - 28.05.2008

List of Liaison Officers for OBC till date is given below:

S. No.
Liasion Officer
Prof. S.N. Malakar
Centre for West Asian Studies, School of International Studies
12.03.2010 - 20.10.2016
Prof. P.K. Yadava
School of Life Sciences
05.03.2007 - 11.03.2010

       The overall functions of SC/ST/OBC Cell are the following:

  1. Standing Advisory Committee on SCs/STs
  2. Reservation policies
  3. Complaint Register
  4. To assist the committees from Government of India/UGC, Government of India with regard to implementation to reservation policy in the University.
  5. Maintenance of Reservation Rosters/Registers
  6. Maintenance of Registers for PwDs reservations.
  7. To ensure compliance of the orders of reservation issued and other benefits admissible from time to time in favour of SCs/STs/OBCs/PwDs.
  8. To liaise with the UGC/ DoPT/ MHRD/ etc. with respect to supply of required information, answering queries and clearing doubts with respect to reservations data/information etc.
  9. To liaise with Office of the Commissioner for SCs/STs/OBCs/PwDs in response of representations/ complaints.
  10. Liaise/ coordinate with Equal Opportunity Office for implementation of policies/ orders etc. regarding equal opportunity.


Additional functions:

  1. Medical Reimbursement/ Medical Advances to serving and retired employees.
  2. Group Saving Link Insurance Scheme/ Group Term Insurance plan for employees.
  3. CGHS
  4. Signing of MoU/ Agreement with various Hospitals for providing cashless medical facility.
  5. House Building Advances/ Computer Advances/ Festival Advances
  6. Scooter/ Motorcycle/Bicycle Advances
  7. Other related work

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.