Skip to main content

Directors

Directors

 

Dr. Nagendra Shreeniwas

Deputy Director

Admission

(04-09-2020 to 03-09-2022)

Email: nshreeniwas@mail.jnu.ac.in, nshreeniwas@gmail.com

Phone: 011-26704047

Dr. Shailja Singh

Director

Advanced Instrumentation Research Facility

(21-12-2019 to 20-12-2021)

Email: shailjasingh@mail.jnu.ac.in

Phone: 011-26738838 / 26704560 / 26704600

Mr. Sanjeev kumar

Director

Communication & Information Services

Email : sanjeev@mail.jnu.ac.in , director_cis@mail.jnu.ac.in

Phone : 011-26704116 / 26704006 / 26704080

Prof. Ajay Kumar Dubey

Director

Energy Studies Programme, SIS

(20-07-2020 till further order)

Email : akdubey@mail.jnu.ac.in , ajaydubey.jnu@gmail.com

Phone: 011-26704350

Prof. Dipendra Nath Das

Director

Group of Adult Education, SSS

(18-03-2020 till further order)

Email : dipendas@mail.jnu.ac.in ; dipendra02@gmail.com

Phone : 011-26704570 / 26704470

Prof. Rajesh Rajagopalan

Director

Human Rights Studies Programme, SIS

(29-10-2017 to 28-10-2019)

Email : r_rajesh@mail.jnu.ac.in , rajesh622@yahoo.com

Phone : 011-26704375

Prof. Ajay Kumar Dubey

Director

Internal Quality Assurance Cell

(08-06-2020 to 07-06-2022)

Email :akdubey@mail.jnu.ac.in , ajaydubey.jnu@gmail.com, director_iqac@mail.jnu.ac.in

Phone: 011-26704034

Prof. Sharad Kumar Soni

Director

International Collaboration

(01-06-2020 till further order)

Email: sksoni@mail.jnu.ac.in , sharadksoni@gmail.com

Phone: 011-26738845

Prof. Ajay Kumar Dubey

Director

Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Advanced Study

(29-12-2020 to 28-12-2022)

Email : akdubey@mail.jnu.ac.in , ajaydubey.jnu@gmail.com

Phone: 2674-1132/31

Prof. Ruchir Gupta

Placement Officer

JNU Placement Cell

(25-11-2020 to 24-11-2022)

Email: ruchirgupta@mail.jnu.ac.in

Phone : 011-26704034

Prof. Paulraj Rajamani

Director

Legal Cell

(05-08-2019 to 04-08-2021)

Email: paulrajr@mail.jnu.ac.in

Phone : 011-26704162

Prof. Suneel Kateriya

Director

Research & Development

(01-10-2019 to 30-09-2021)

Email: skateriya@jnu.ac.in , suneel77@yahoo.com

Phone : 011-26704758

Dr. Nemthianngai Guite

Deputy Director

Research & Development

(28-09-2020 to 27-09-2022)

Email:nguite@mail.jnu.ac.in, thianguite2.0@gmail.com

Phone : 011-26704746,011-26742248

Dr. Mukesh Kumar Khandelwal

Deputy Director

Research & Development

(28-09-2020 to 27-09-2022)

Email:mukeshkhandelwal@mail.jnu.ac.in ; mukesh.khandelwal89@ieee.org

Phone: 011-26704323

Prof. P K Joshi

Director

Swachha JNU

(w.e.f.13-09-2018)

Email:pkjoshi@mail.jnu.ac.in , pkjoshi27@hotmail.com

Phone: 011-26704323

Dr. Gopal Lal Meena

Deputy Director

Swachha JNU

(w.e.f.13-09-2018)

Email:glmeena@mail.jnu.ac.in , gmeena28@yahoo.com

Phone : 011-26743022

Prof. Brajesh Kumar Pandey

Director

UGC - Human Resource Development Centre

(03-05-2020 to 02-05-2022)

Email :brajeshkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in, brajeshvka@gmail.com

Phone: 011-26742532 / 26742566

Dr. Sanjeev Sharma

Assistant Director

UGC - Human Resource Development Centre

(01-06-2020 to 31-05-2022)

Email:sanjeevsharma@mail.jnu.ac.in , sanjuscorp@gmail.com

Phone: 011-26742532 / 26742566

Prof. S. K. Sharma

Director

University Science Instrumentation Center

Email: sksharma@mail.jnu.ac.in ,  shatendra@gmail.com

Phone : 011-26704758

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.