Skip to main content

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory :

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | Y | Z

Faculty Directory

Number of Faculty : 16
  • Jaivir Singh
    Jaivir Singh
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Law and Governance
    jsingh@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Jayant Kumar Tripathi
    Jayant Kumar Tripathi
    Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    jktripathi@mail.jnu.ac.in , jktrip@yahoo.com
  • Jayati Srivastava
    Jayati Srivastava
    Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    jayatis@jnu.ac.in , jayatis@gmail.com
  • Joy L.K. Pachuau
    Joy L.K. Pachuau
    Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    jpachuau@mail.jnu.ac.in joy.pachuau@gmail.com
  • J.M. Moosa
    J.M. Moosa
    Associate Professor
    Centre for African Studies,
    jmmoosa@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Jajati Keshari Pattnaik
    Jajati Keshari Pattnaik
    Associate Professor
    Centre for West Asian Studies,
    jajatikpattnaik@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Jyoti Atwal
    Jyoti Atwal
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    jyoti_atwal@mail.jnu.ac.in , jyotiatjnu@gmail.com
  • Jaydeep Bhattacharya
    Jaydeep Bhattacharya
    Assistant Professor (UGC)
    School of Biotechnology
    jaydeep@jnu.ac.in jaydpb@gmail.com
  • J. Madhan Mohan
    J. Madhan Mohan
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    madhanmohan@mail.jnu.ac.in , jmadhanmohan@hotmail.com
  • Jaikhlong Basumatary
    Jaikhlong Basumatary
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Indo-Pacific Studies
    jaikhlong@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Janashruti Chandra
    Janashruti Chandra
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Japanese Studies,
    jchandra@mail.jnu.ac.in , janashruti@hotmail.com
  • Jangkhomang Guite
    Jangkhomang Guite
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    jkmguite@gmail.com
  • Jitendra Uttam
    Jitendra Uttam
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for East Asian Studies,
    juttam@mail.jnu.ac.in , jnucampus@gmail.com
  • Jubilee Shangrei
    Jubilee Shangrei
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    shangrii@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Jyoti
    Jyoti
    Assistant Professor
    School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies
    jyotiraj@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Jyoti D Bhosale
    Jyoti D Bhosale
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Comparative Politics & Political Theory,
    jdbhosale@mail.jnu.ac.in , dbjyoti@gmail.com

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.