Skip to main content

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory :

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | Y | Z

Faculty Directory

Number of Faculty : 30
  • V.  Sujatha
    V. Sujatha
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    sujathav@mail.jnu.ac.in , vsujatha011@gmail.com
  • V. G.  Hegde
    V. G. Hegde
    Professor
    Centre for International Legal Studies,
    vghegde@mail.jnu.ac.in, vghegde@gmail.com
  • Varaprasad Sekhar Dolla
    Varaprasad Sekhar Dolla
    Professor
    Centre for East Asian Studies,
    dvs@mail.jnu.ac.in, dvaraprasads@gmail.com
  • Varun Sahni
    Varun Sahni
    Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    varunsahni@jnu.ac.in
  • Vibha  Tandon
    Vibha Tandon
    Professor
    Special Centre for Molecular Medicine
    vtandon@mail.jnu.ac.in , vibhadelhi6@gmail.com
  • Vidhu Verma
    Vidhu Verma
    Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    vidhuverma@mail.jnu.ac.in, vidhuverma94@gmail.com
  • Vikas  Rawal
    Vikas Rawal
    Professor
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,
    vikas@mail.jnu.ac.in , vikasrawal@gmail.com
  • Vinay Kumar Rao
    Vinay Kumar Rao
    Professor
    Special Centre for the Study of North East India
    vinaykrao@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Vir Bahadur Singh
    Vir Bahadur Singh
    Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    vbsingh@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Vishwanatha
    Vishwanatha
    Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages,
    vishwanatha@mail.jnu.ac.in vish8460@gmail.com
  • Vivek  Kumar
    Vivek Kumar
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    vivekkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Vyjayanti  Raghavan
    Vyjayanti Raghavan
    Professor
    Centre for Korean Studies,
    vyjayanti@mail.jnu.ac.in , jayantiraghavan@yahoo.co.in
  • V.  Bijukumar
    V. Bijukumar
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    bijukumar@mail.jnu.ac.in vbijukumar2014@gmail.com
  • Veena  Hariharan
    Veena Hariharan
    Associate Professor
    School of Arts & Aesthetics
    veenahariharan@mail.jnu.ac.in , hariharan.veena@gmail.com
  • Vijay Kumar Goel
    Vijay Kumar Goel
    Associate Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    vijaykgoel@mail.jnu.ac.in , vijaykgoel@jnu.ac.in
  • Vijay Pal Singh Rawat
    Vijay Pal Singh Rawat
    Associate Professor
    Special Centre for Molecular Medicine
    vijaypsrawat@mail.jnu.ac.in, rawatcdx@gmail.com
  • Vaishali Krishna
    Vaishali Krishna
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies
    vaishali@mail.jnu.ac.in, vaishalikrishna272@gmail.com
  • Vandana Mishra
    Vandana Mishra
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Comparative Politics & Political Theory,
    vandanamishra@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Vaniki Joshi Lohani
    Vaniki Joshi Lohani
    Assistant Professor
    Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship
    vanikijoshi@mail.jnu.ac.in ; vanikijoshi@gmail.com
  • Varun Saxena
    Varun Saxena
    Assistant Professor
    School of Engineering
    varunsaxena@mail.jnu.ac.in ; varunsaxena@jnu.ac.in
  • Ved Prakash Gupta
    Ved Prakash Gupta
    Assistant Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    vedgupta AT mail.jnu.ac.in, ved.math AT gmail.com
  • Veeragoni Shirisha
    Veeragoni Shirisha
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy,
    veeragoni@mail.jnu.ac.in , vshirisha1@gmail.com
  • Vijender Singh
    Vijender Singh
    Assistant Professor
    School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies
    singhvijender@mail.jnu.ac.in , mehtayvs@gmail.com
  • Vikas Bajpai
    Vikas Bajpai
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Social Medicine and Community Health,
    drvikasbajpai@gmail.com
  • Vikas Yadav
    Vikas Yadav
    Assistant Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    vikasyadav@mail.jnu.ac.in; vikasjnu@gmail.com
  • Vikram Bansal
    Vikram Bansal
    Assistant Professor
    Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship
    vikrambansal@jnu.ac.in
  • Vinay Kumar Ambedkar
    Vinay Kumar Ambedkar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    vkambedkar@mail.jnu.ac.in , vinay.ambedkar@gmail.com
  • Vinod Kumar
    Vinod Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for Nanoscience
    kumarv@mail.jnu.ac.in ; vinod7674@gmail.com
  • Virendra Singh
    Virendra Singh
    Assistant Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    virendrasingh@mail.jnu.ac.in, singhvirendra@live.com
  • Vrushal Trimbak  Ghoble
    Vrushal Trimbak Ghoble
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for West Asian Studies,
    vrushal_jnu@yahoo.co.in, ghoble@mail.jnu.ac.in

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.