Skip to main content

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory :

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | Y | Z

Faculty Directory

Number of Faculty : 50
  • P K Joshi
    P K Joshi
    Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    pkjoshi@mail.jnu.ac.in pkjoshi27@hotmail.com
  • P. Sahadevan
    P. Sahadevan
    Professor
    Centre for South Asian Studies
    sahadevan@mail.jnu.ac.in sahajnu@gmail.com
  • P.A. George
    P.A. George
    Professor
    Centre for Japanese Studies,
    pageorge@mail.jnu.ac.in , georgep_a_@hotmail.com
  • P.C. Rath
    P.C. Rath
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    pcrath@mail.jnu.ac.in pramod.rath@gmail.com
  • P.R. Kumaraswamy
    P.R. Kumaraswamy
    Professor
    Centre for West Asian Studies,
    kumaraswamy@mail.jnu.ac.in kumaraswamy.pr@gmail.com
  • Partho Datta
    Partho Datta
    Professor
    School of Arts & Aesthetics
    parthodatta@mail.jnu.ac.in parthodatta@gmail.com
  • Parul Dave Mukherji
    Parul Dave Mukherji
    Professor
    School of Arts & Aesthetics
    paruldm@mail.jnu.ac.in parul.dm@hotmail.com
  • Paulraj  Rajamani
    Paulraj Rajamani
    Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    paulrajr@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Pawan K. Dhar
    Pawan K. Dhar
    Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    pawandhar@mail.jnu.ac.in, pawan.dhar@outlook.com
  • Phool Badan
    Phool Badan
    Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies,
    phoolbadan@mail.jnu.ac.in, phoolbadan@yahoo.com, phoolbjnu@gmail.com
  • Pradeep K. Das
    Pradeep K. Das
    Professor
    Centre for Linguistics,
    pkdas@mail.jnu.ac.in , pradeep11@hotmail.com
  • Pradipta Bandyopadhyay
    Pradipta Bandyopadhyay
    Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    pradipta_b@mail.jnu.ac.in praban07@gmail.com
  • Pradipta K. Chaudhury
    Pradipta K. Chaudhury
    Professor
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,
    pradipta@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Prakash Chand Kandpal
    Prakash Chand Kandpal
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Law and Governance
    prakashchand@mail.jnu.ac.in, pcka120872@yahoo.com
  • Praveen  Jha
    Praveen Jha
    Professor
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,
    praveen@mail.jnu.ac.in praveenjha2005@gmail.com
  • Praveen K Verma
    Praveen K Verma
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    praveenkverma@mail.jnu.ac.in, praveenkverma@jnu.ac.in, pkv.jnu@gmail.com
  • Priyadarsi  Mukherji
    Priyadarsi Mukherji
    Professor
    Centre for Chinese and South East Asian Studies,
    pdm@mail.jnu.ac.in, pdm1962@rediffmail.com
  • Punam Kumari
    Punam Kumari
    Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    punamkumari@mail.jnu.ac.in punam.hindi@gmail.com
  • P.  Puneeth
    P. Puneeth
    Associate Professor
    Centre for the Study of Law and Governance
    ppuneeth@mail.jnu.ac.in dr.ppuneeth@gmail.com
  • Padmini  Pani
    Padmini Pani
    Associate Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    padmini@mail.jnu.ac.in , padminipani.jnu@gmail.com
  • Pallavi Somvanshi
    Pallavi Somvanshi
    Associate Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    psomvanshi@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Pankaj Thakur
    Pankaj Thakur
    Associate Professor
    Special Centre for Nanoscience
    pankajthakur@mail.jnu.ac.in, chempank@gmail.com
  • Parnal  Chirmuley
    Parnal Chirmuley
    Associate Professor
    Centre of German Studies,
    pchirmuley@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Pauthang  Haokip
    Pauthang Haokip
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Linguistics,
    pauthang@mail.jnu.ac.in , pauthanghaokip@yahoo.co.in
  • Pawan Kumar Kulriya
    Pawan Kumar Kulriya
    Associate Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    pkkulriya@mail.jnu.ac.in, pawaniuac@gmail.com
  • Piyush Pratap Singh
    Piyush Pratap Singh
    Associate Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    piyushpsingh@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Pramod Kumar Sharma
    Pramod Kumar Sharma
    Associate Professor
    School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies
    pramodsharma@mail.jnu.ac.in, pksharmas54@gmail.com
  • Prasanta Sahoo
    Prasanta Sahoo
    Associate Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    prasantasahoo@mail.jnu.ac.in, prasantasahoo12@yahoo.co.in
  • Pratiksha  Baxi
    Pratiksha Baxi
    Associate Professor
    Centre for the Study of Law and Governance
    pbaxi@mail.jnu.ac.in pratiksha.baxi@gmail.com
  • Pritam Mukhopadhyay
    Pritam Mukhopadhyay
    Associate Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    m_pritam@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Priti Singh
    Priti Singh
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Canadian, US & Latin American Studies,
    pritisingh@mail.jnu.ac.in , singhpriti@hotmail.com
  • Priya Bhagowalia
    Priya Bhagowalia
    Associate Professor
    Centre for International Trade & Development
    bhagowalia@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Priya Gupta
    Priya Gupta
    Associate Professor
    Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship
    priyagupta@mail.jnu.ac.in, pgupta1902@gmail.com
  • Papia Sen Gupta
    Papia Sen Gupta
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    papiasg@mail.jnu.ac.in , papia410@gmail.com
  • Papori  Bora
    Papori Bora
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Women's Studies
    paporibora@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Parimala V  Rao
    Parimala V Rao
    Assistant Professor
    Zakir Husain Centre for Educational Studies,
    parimalavrao@mail.jnu.ac.in ; parimalavrao@gmail.com
  • Phirmi Bodo
    Phirmi Bodo
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    phirmibodo@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Pijus Kumar Sasmal
    Pijus Kumar Sasmal
    Assistant Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    pijus@mail.jnu.ac.in; pijussasmal@gmail.com
  • Poonam  Agarwal
    Poonam Agarwal
    Assistant Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    poonamgoel@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Poonam  Mehta
    Poonam Mehta
    Assistant Professor (UGC)
    School of Physical Sciences
    pm@mail.jnu.ac.in, pm@jnu.ac.in
  • Pradeep K  Shinde
    Pradeep K Shinde
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Informal Sector & Labour Studies,
    pradeepshinde@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Pradeep Kumar Choudhury
    Pradeep Kumar Choudhury
    Assistant Professor
    Zakir Husain Centre for Educational Studies, School of Social Sciences
    pradeepchoudhury@jnu.ac.in ; pradeep.hcu@gmail.com
  • Prakasha Chandra Sahoo
    Prakasha Chandra Sahoo
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems
    prakashsahoo@mail.jnu.ac.in , prakashsahoo.jnu@gmail.com
  • Pranav Kumar
    Pranav Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy,
    pranavkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Pratima  Solanki
    Pratima Solanki
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for Nanoscience
    partima@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Pravesh Kumar
    Pravesh Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Comparative Politics & Political Theory,
    kumar.pravesh27@gmail.com
  • Preeti D  Das
    Preeti D Das
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies,
    ketyusha@gmail.com
  • Prerana Mukherjee
    Prerana Mukherjee
    Assistant Professor
    School of Engineering
    prerana@jnu.ac.in, prerana@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Priyada Shridhar  Padhye
    Priyada Shridhar Padhye
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of German Studies,
    priyadashridharpadhye@mail.jnu.ac.in priyada67@gmail.com
  • Purva Yadav
    Purva Yadav
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    purvayadav@mail.jnu.ac.in

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.