Skip to main content

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory :

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | Y | Z

Faculty Directory

Number of Faculty : 96
  • A.K.  Mohapatra
    A.K. Mohapatra
    Professor
    Centre for West Asian Studies,
    akmohapatra@mail.jnu.ac.in aswinijnu@gmail.com
  • A.K.  Pasha
    A.K. Pasha
    Professor
    Centre for West Asian Studies,
    akpasha@mail.jnu.ac.in , drakpasha@gmail.com
  • A.K.  Ramakrishnan
    A.K.  Ramakrishnan
    Professor
    Centre for West Asian Studies,
    ramki@mail.jnu.ac.in   
  • A.P.  Dimri
    A.P.  Dimri
    Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    apdimri@mail.jnu.ac.in apdimri@hotmail.com
  • Abhijit  Karkun
    Abhijit Karkun
    Professor
    Centre for French and Francophone Studies,
    abhijitkarkun@mail.jnu.ac.in , chotkun@hotmail.com
  • Ajay Kumar  Dubey
    Ajay Kumar Dubey
    Professor
    Centre for African Studies,
    akdubey@mail.jnu.ac.in ; ajaydubey.jnu@gmail.com
  • Ajay Kumar  Saxena
    Ajay Kumar Saxena
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    ajaysaxena@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Ajith  Kanna
    Ajith Kanna
    Professor
    Centre for French and Francophone Studies,
    ajithkanna@mail.jnu.ac.in , ajitsulo@yahoo.com
  • Ajmer Singh  Kajal
    Ajmer Singh Kajal
    Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    ajmerskajal@mail.jnu.ac.in , ajmerskajal@gmail.com
  • Akhlaque Ahmad  Ansari
    Akhlaque Ahmad Ansari
    Professor
    Centre of Persian and Central Asian Studies
    aahmad@mail.jnu.ac.in , akhlaq.ahan@gmail.com
  • AL.  Ramanathan
    AL.  Ramanathan
    Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    alr0400@mail.jnu.ac.in , alrjnu@gmail.com
  • Alka Acharya
    Alka Acharya
    Professor
    Centre for East Asian Studies,
    alkaacharya@mail.jnu.ac.in , alka.acharya@gmail.com
  • Alok Kumar  Mondal
    Alok Kumar Mondal
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    akmondal@mail.jnu.ac.in alok.imt@gmail.com
  • Amaresh  Dubey
    Amaresh Dubey
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    amareshdubey@mail.jnu.ac.in , dubey.amaresh@yahoo.com
  • Amit  Prakash
    Amit Prakash
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Law and Governance
    amit@mail.jnu.ac.in amitp.ap@gmail.com
  • Amit Shovon  Ray
    Amit Shovon Ray
    Professor
    Centre for International Trade & Development
    asray@mail.jnu.ac.in amit.shovon.ray@gmail.com
  • Amita  Batra
    Amita Batra
    Professor
    Centre for South Asian Studies
    amitabatra@mail.jnu.ac.in , batraamita@gmail.com
  • Amitabh  Mattoo
    Amitabh Mattoo
    Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    amattoo@mail.jnu.ac.in amitabh.mattoo@gmail.com
  • Anand  Ranganathan
    Anand Ranganathan
    Professor
    Special Centre for Molecular Medicine
    aranganathan@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Ananda Kumar Sarkar
    Ananda Kumar Sarkar
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    anandaksarkar@mail.jnu.ac.in, aksarkar.jnu@gmail.com
  • Andrew M  Lynn
    Andrew M Lynn
    Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    andrew@jnu.ac.in
  • Anirban  Chakraborti
    Anirban Chakraborti
    Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    anirban@mail.jnu.ac.in ; anirban@jnu.ac.in
  • Anupama  Roy
    Anupama Roy
    Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    anupamaroy@mail.jnu.ac.in , royanupama07@gmail.com
  • Anuradha  Banerjee
    Anuradha Banerjee
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    anuradha@mail.jnu.ac.in banerjee.anb@gmail.com
  • Aparna  Sawhney
    Aparna Sawhney
    Professor
    Centre for International Trade & Development
    asawhney@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Aparna Dixit
    Aparna Dixit
    Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    adix2100@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Archana  Upadhyay
    Archana Upadhyay
    Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies,
    archana_u@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Archana Prasad
    Archana Prasad
    Professor
    Centre for Informal Sector & Labour Studies,
    archanaprasad@mail.jnu.ac.in archie.prasad11@gmail.com
  • Arun Sidram Kharat
    Arun Sidram Kharat
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    arunkharat2007@gmail.com, askharat@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Arvind Kumar
    Arvind Kumar
    Professor
    Centre for Canadian, US & Latin American Studies
    arvindk@mail.jnu.ac.in, aknias@yahoo.com
  • Arvind Kumar
    Arvind Kumar
    Professor
    Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship
    kumararvind@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Asha  Sarangi
    Asha Sarangi
    Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    ashasarangi@mail.jnu.ac.in ashasarangi@gmail.com
  • Ashis K  Nandi
    Ashis K Nandi
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    ashis_nandi@mail.jnu.ac.in ashis_nandi@yahoo.com
  • Ashwani  Pareek
    Ashwani Pareek
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    ashwanip@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Atul  Sood
    Atul Sood
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    atulsood@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Atul Kumar
    Atul Kumar
    Professor
    Energy Studies Programme
    atulkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in, atuliitd@gmail.com
  • Atul Kumar  Johri
    Atul Kumar Johri
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    ajohri@mail.jnu.ac.in akjohri14@yahoo.com
  • Avijit  Pathak
    Avijit Pathak
    Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    avijit@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Ayesha  Kidwai
    Ayesha Kidwai
    Professor
    Centre for Linguistics,
    ayesha@mail.jnu.ac.in , ayesha.kidwai@gmail.com
  • Aditi  Sharan
    Aditi Sharan
    Associate Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    aditisharan@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Ajay  Kumar
    Ajay Kumar
    Associate Professor
    Group of Adult Education
    ajaykumar@mail.jnu.ac.in , ajayritwik@gmail.com
  • Ajay Gudavarthy
    Ajay Gudavarthy
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    agudavarthy@mail.jnu.ac.in, gajay99@rediffimail.com
  • Ajay Verma
    Ajay Verma
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Philosophy,
    ajayverma@mail.jnu.ac.in , thinkajay@yahoo.com
  • Allauddin  Shah
    Allauddin Shah
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Persian and Central Asian Studies School of Language, Literature and Culture Studies
    allauddinshah@mail.jnu.ac.in , ashah.jnu@gmail.com
  • Amal Chandra Mondal
    Amal Chandra Mondal
    Associate Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    acmondal@mail.jnu.ac.in , amal_mondal@rediffmail.com
  • Ambrish  Dhaka
    Ambrish Dhaka
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Inner Asian Studies,
    adhaka@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Amit Kumar Sharma
    Amit Kumar Sharma
    Associate Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    aksharma@mail.jnu.ac.in amitjnu@yahoo.com
  • Amit Rai
    Amit Rai
    Associate Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    amitrai@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Amitabh  Singh
    Amitabh Singh
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies,
    amitabhsingh@mail.jnu.ac.in , samitabh@gmail.com
  • Angomcha Bimol  Akoijam
    Angomcha Bimol Akoijam
    Associate Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    bimol@mail.jnu.ac.in , bimol.akoijam@gmail.com
  • Ankit Chaudhary
    Ankit Chaudhary
    Associate Professor
    School of Engineering
    ankitchaudhary@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Archna  Negi
    Archna Negi
    Associate Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    archnanegi@mail.jnu.ac.in , archnanegi@rediffmail.com
  • Arunim  Bandyopadhyay
    Arunim Bandyopadhyay
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    arunim@mail.jnu.ac.in , arunbandyo@yahoo.co.in
  • Arvind P Arahant
    Arvind P Arahant
    Associate Professor
    Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship
    aparahant@mail.jnu.ac.in, arvindarahant@gmail.com
  • Ashish  Agnihotri
    Ashish Agnihotri
    Associate Professor
    Centre for French and Francophone Studies,
    agni@mail.jnu.ac.in & agni.jnu@gmail.com
  • A.  Krishnamachari
    A. Krishnamachari
    Assistant Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    chari@mail.jnu.ac.in akchari@gmail.com
  • Aayushi Ketkar
    Aayushi Ketkar
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for National Security Studies
    aayushik@mail.jnu.ac.in, aayushi.ketkar@gmail.com
  • Abhijeet Dwivedi
    Abhijeet Dwivedi
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for Disaster Research
    abhijit@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Abhimanyu Kumar Sharma
    Abhimanyu Kumar Sharma
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of German Studies
    abhi.sharma@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Abhinav  Grover
    Abhinav Grover
    Assistant Professor(UGC)
    School of Biotechnology
    agrover@mail.jnu.ac.in , abhinavgr@gmail.com
  • Abhishek Srivastava
    Abhishek Srivastava
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    abhisheks@mail.jnu.ac.in, abhishek.ir@gmail.com
  • Abhisheka Bansal
    Abhisheka Bansal
    Assistant Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    abhisheka@mail.jnu.ac.in, bansal.abhisheka@gmail.com
  • Ajoy Kumar Karnati
    Ajoy Kumar Karnati
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    akkarnati@mail.jnu.ac.in , ajoy.karnati@gmail.com
  • Akhtar Alam
    Akhtar Alam
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Arabic and African studies,
    akhtaralam@mail.jnu.ac.in ; akhterjnu@gmail.com
  • Alok Kumar Singh Jha
    Alok Kumar Singh Jha
    Assistant Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    alokksjha@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Amala Bhave
    Amala Bhave
    Assistant Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    abhave@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Ameet  Parameswaran
    Ameet Parameswaran
    Assistant Professor
    School of Arts & Aesthetics
    ameet@mail.jnu.ac.in , ameet.parameswaran@gmail.com
  • Amir  Ali
    Amir Ali
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    amirali@mail.jnu.ac.in amirali.jnu@gmail.com
  • Amit  Thorat
    Amit Thorat
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
    athorat@mail.jnu.ac.in , amitthorat@gmail.com
  • Amit Kumar
    Amit Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for West Asian Studies,
    amit.kr@mail.jnu.ac.in ; amitkjnu@gmail.com
  • Amit Kumar Mishra
    Amit Kumar Mishra
    Assistant Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    amitmishra@mail.jnu.ac.in , amit.mishra.jnu@gmail.com
  • Anamika Gulati
    Anamika Gulati
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Studies in Science Policy,
    anamikagulati@mail.jnu.ac.in; anamika1711@yahoo.co.in
  • Anamitra Roy Chowdhury
    Anamitra Roy Chowdhury
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Informal Sector & Labour Studies,
    anamitra@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Anil Kumar Singh
    Anil Kumar Singh
    Assistant Professor
    Greek Language
    anilksingh@mail.jnu.ac.in, anilksinghjnu@gmail.com
  • Ankita Rai
    Ankita Rai
    Assistant Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    ankitarai@mail.jnu.ac.in , ankitagalaxy@gmail.com
  • Ankur Yadav
    Ankur Yadav
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for National Security Studies
    ankuryadav@mail.jnu.ac.in ; ankur.jnusis@gmail.com
  • Anshu Joshi
    Anshu Joshi
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Canadian, US & Latin American Studies,
    anshujoshi@mail.jnu.ac.in, anshujoshijnu@gmail.com
  • Anuja
    Anuja
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy,
    anuja@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Anushree
    Anushree
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Japanese Studies,
    anushreepr@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Aprajita  Kashyap
    Aprajita Kashyap
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Canadian, US & Latin American Studies,
    aprajita@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Archana  Aggarwal
    Archana Aggarwal
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,
    archagg@mail.jnu.ac.in , archanaaggarwal@aol.com
  • Arihant Kumar Vardhan
    Arihant Kumar Vardhan
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Persian and Central Asian Studies
    akvardhan@mail.jnu.ac.in , arihant168@gmail.com
  • Arnab  Bhattacharjee
    Arnab Bhattacharjee
    Assistant Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    arnab@mail.jnu.ac.in , arnab@jnu.ac.in
  • Arun Kumar  Srivastava
    Arun Kumar  Srivastava
    Assistant Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    a_srivastava@mail.jnu.ac.in , srivastava02@hotmail.com
  • Arvind Kumar  Mishra
    Arvind Kumar Mishra
    Assistant Professor
    Zakir Husain Centre for Educational Studies,
    akmishra@mail.jnu.ac.in , akmishra106@gmail.com
  • Asheesh Kumar
    Asheesh Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    asheeshkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Ashim Kr. Pramanik
    Ashim Kr. Pramanik
    Assistant Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    akpramanik@mail.jnu.ac.in, ashpramanik@gmail.com
  • Ashok
    Ashok
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,
    ashok@mail.jnu.ac.in ashokpratapgarh@yahoo.com
  • Ashu Bhan  Tiku
    Ashu Bhan Tiku
    Assistant Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    abtiku@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Ashutosh  Anand
    Ashutosh Anand
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    aanand@mail.jnu.ac.in , ashu.jnu@gmail.com
  • Ashwani Kumar
    Ashwani Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    School of Engineering
    ashwanikumar@mail.jnu.ac.in ; ashwanikumar7@yahoo.com
  • Ashwani Kumar Tiwari
    Ashwani Kumar Tiwari
    Assistant Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    ashwaniktiwari@mail.jnu.ac.in, ashwani.enviro@gmail.com
  • Asutosh  Srivastava
    Asutosh Srivastava
    Assistant Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    asutosh@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Avinash  Kumar
    Avinash Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Informal Sector & Labour Studies,
    avinashkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in avinashmishra.jnu@gmail.com
  • Ayesha  Choudhary
    Ayesha Choudhary
    Assistant Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    ayeshac@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Ayushi Barthwal
    Ayushi Barthwal
    Assistant Professor
    School of Engineering
    ayushibarthwal@mail.jnu.ac.in , barthwal.ayushi1988@gmail.com

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.